Christina Nilsson


The young Swedish soprano Christina Nilsson has begun this season singing her first Ariadne in Strauss’ Ariadne auf Naxos at Oper Frankfurt, a role that she will also sing at Opéra de Lausanne later this season.

Last season Christina made her role debut as Aida at The Royal Opera in Stockholm, with great success and fantastic reviews. Christina also appeared in concerts with the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra at the Stockholm Concert Hall. She has also been a guest at the Opéra national de Lorraine in Nancy where she performed Strauss' Vier letzte Lieder.

Christina was last season a guest at the Opéra de Lyon where she sung Die Aufsehering and covered the role of Chrysothemis in Elektra. She has previously appeared as one of the Drei Arme Adelige Waisen in Der Rosenkavalier and as Donna Anna in Min bror är Don Juan by W.A Mozart/Niklas Brommare (A short version of Don Giovanni) at the Royal Opera in Stockholm. She has performed the role of The Magician in Son of Heaven by Moto Osada and she has sung Geltrude in Enrico di Borgogna, Donizetti, both at Vadstena Akademien She has also appeared as Sångerskan in Hos Oss by Swedish composer Thomas Jennefelt.

Christina Nilsson was born in Ystad in Southern Sweden and moved to Stockholm when she began her studies at the Lilla Akademien musikgymnasium. After two years at Vadstena folkhögskola she began her studies at the University College of Opera in Stockholm from where she got her Master’s degree in June 2017.

In 2017 Christina Nilsson was awarded the First prize in the Renata Tebaldi International Voice Competition, and she received the First prize as well as the Audience's prize of the Wilhelm Stenhammar International Competition in 2016.

Christina received the Birgit Nilsson Scholarship of 2015 and in 2014 she was awarded the Jenny Lind scholarship which included a concert tour in the United States and Canada. Christina has also received scholarships from the Royal Swedish Academy of Music in 2013, 2014 and 2015, the Mats Liljefors scholarship in 2013, the Vadstena Akademien scholarship in 2012 and Ystads Allehanda Culture Prize in 2011.

Updated January 2019